SeeJesRun











{February 6, 2011}   2011 Critz Tybee Half Marathon

Pre-Race

1. I can never sleep the night before a race (along w/ most other nights in general) – slept like a baby last night tho!

2. I also never have even a mildly decent race photo, I knew today would have gnarly weather, so I left my shades at home and went for curly hair and a visor, just trying different things in hopes for frame-worthy proof that I’m a runner… yeah, that didn’t work out….

3.  Headed to Tybee, I actually love being up and out this early in the morning 🙂 It didn’t rain on the way there so I thought we’d luck out, till I actually crossed over to the island…

3. I got there and parked and found my team’s tent in time to shiver for about 5 minutes and then head to the start. It was raining lightly, sorta misting, and I was freezing, but other than that felt good.  Not much stretching going on… oops!

The Race Is On!

4. The first mile lasted forever cuz it was straight down one road.  The further we went, the harder it rained.  I was in a capris, a t-shirt, sweatshirt, mittens, and a visor.  I didn’t mind the rain much, made me feel kinda hardcore 🙂

5. Between the lack of training, the weather, and just a gut feeling, I knew this was going to be a rough race, so I decided to do what I’ve never done which is to take my time, take a pic or two, chat up some fellow back-packing runners, yada, yada, yada…

Here’s the Tybee lighthouse, about 2.5 miles in…

7. Ditched my sweatshirt about mile 5.  By then it weighed roughly 37 lbs!! dropped it at a spot off the main road i thought would be easy to swing by and grab post-race.  In this town I wasn’t too worried about someone snatching it up but sadly, it was gone…

8. Normally mile 8 is my notorious hurdle.  Funny thing, in December’s Jacksonville 1/2, I didn’t really struggle at all, and then today, my hurdle popped up between miles 5 and 6!!!!! ahhh!!!!  no bueno!!! 

9. Miles 6-9 were tough! one LONG stretch of that main road, which felt like it never ended!  And these miles were running against quite a little breeze.  My hamstrings felt like they were cranking tighter and tighter with every stride.

10.  By mile 9 I was in a ton of pain.  My legs were like lead.  My shoes and socks were still drenched.  The soles of my feet felt like I had been running barefoot the whole time.  And I was just ready to have it over with.

11.  This is when I really started struggling w/ the walk/run thing.  As soon as I let myself walk even just a little bit, I have trouble getting going and staying going again.  Sadly, this was the reality of the last leg of the race especially, which made it drag on so much longer. 

12.  I tried to embrace it and chat up people.  People in general fascinate me, and I love the running community so i greatly enjoyed getting the chance to do this.

13.  This race time was nearly 20 minutes slower than my previous worst time.  There were many obstacles that attributed to this, but the biggest factor was definitely my lack of training.  January was full of illnesses and overscheduling which left little opportunity to run.  I did so well (for me) at the Jax race w/ little training, I honestly wasn’t sure if that was a fluke.  I’m glad to see that it was.  Lesson learned!

Post Race –

14. Cold.  Very very cold! And oh so windy! It rained lightly and although they served some yummy chili, I was a bit on the miserable side.  I stayed and chatted with the team, but eventually headed home.  By the time I got to my house I had started to thaw, but had a wicked headache.  My hip flexers were so sore, it hurt tremendously just to walk.

15.  Its been several hours and my legs are still really beat up.  I haven’t been this sore after a race since my first half 1.5 years ago.  And I’m pretty sure I will sleep like a baby!

+ points:

16. I saw one guy, around my mile 6, walking back from his 5k (i could tell by his bib).  I mean absolutely no disrespect, but this was a big boy.  He reminded me of a biggest loser contestant.  anyways, he was walking by himself, but smiling from ear to ear, no doubt over his accomplishments.  it was the biggest grin i’ve ever seen and it made me choke up- so awesome!

17. I really liked the separate starts for the 1/2 marathon and the 5k.  the 5k started at 8am, and by the time the 1/2 started at 8:30, many of the 5k runners had finished.  i like being able to cheer for them before my race 🙂  I think its a good energizer!

18. I love my team, FCA-endurance.  there are a ton of us, and everyone is so friendly and helpful.  i’m so proud of my teammates 🙂 and honored to represent Christ alongside them!

– points

19. besides the obvious and pre-mentioned, there weren’t many spectators (but that could largely be from the weather), which i don’t mind necessarily, but i want it for the other runners

20. i was least impressed by the expo.  they changed locations since i last ran the tybee race, and it was so cramped in this little hotel convention hall.  there was no room for any vendors besides fleet feet and the packet pick-up, and with that it was hard to walk through, everyone was shoulder to shoulder.

Altogether, this was my least favorite race.  Its close to home, so I’m thinking I might run next year to redeem myself, but other than that, I’d rather volunteer at it… I’m glad to have the opportunity tho, and to have another 1/2 under my belt 🙂

Now, to get back into training! 🙂

rundanrun says:

Hey Jes,
I’m sorry you had such a rough run. It happens to all of us. And, with being ill not long ago of course, it will have an effect on your performance.

You have a great blog. I’ve told you before and I’ll tell you again, you write very well. I enjoy reading your blogs. Please keep it up. You have a gift.
Take care.
dh



Leave a Reply

et cetera
